US Open R3: What time does Rafael Nadal play against Karen Khachanov?

Top seed and defending champion Rafael Nadal continues his US Open campaign as he takes on 22-year-old Karen Khachanov for a place in the fourth round.

Date: Friday, 31 August 2018

Match time: Around 1.30 PM EDT –  New York, Montreal / 6.30 PM BST – United Kingdom / 7.30 PM  CET – Spain, France, Germany, Italy / Saturday 3.30 AM AEDT – Melbourne. To convert to your local time, use this website.

Julian Finney/Getty Images

Rafa holds a lifetime 4-0 advantage over the 6-foot-6 Russian. The pair played a tight match just weeks ago in Toronto, with our champ emerging the victor 7-6, 6-4.

Rafa on playing Khachanov:

He’s a great opponent. He’s a great player. Young, strong, I played against him in Toronto three weeks ago. It was a tough one.

I’m excited to play that match and I hope it will be a good one. I need to play well to try to be through and that’s what I’m looking for.

GOOD LUCK & VAMOS RAFA!

Source: ATP World Tour

Advertisements

116 thoughts on “US Open R3: What time does Rafael Nadal play against Karen Khachanov?

  1. Rafa fan 1

    Phew! Thank God you got through Rafa!!!
    Rest your body and think of all that you could work on.
    Wish you all the best in your next match , champ!

    You are the best!!!

    Like

  2. Lorna

    Wow! That was a blockbuster. Rafa survived a stern test. Kachanov has my total admiration and i think he’ll certainly be doing great things in the future. Basilashvilli next. Meanwhile, rest that knee champ.

    Like

  3. Susie

    Well done Rafa. He had some good competition from a young man who i quite like – no tantrums and no dramas. A close match. But rafa will need to recover fast.

    Like

  4. Mac

    Sick. Serving for the match and get broken to love? Come on Rafa no more drama!

    Khachanov will not go away without a fight. Whatever the outcome of this match, he has my respect.

    Close this out Rafa!

    Like

    1. Lorna

      Yes, Khachanov doesn’t loook phased at all. He did say in his interview, just before coming on to court, that he would not change anything in his game. A mark of confidence.

      Like

    1. Mac

      That’s right Susie. When has this happened before with Rafa being broken to love while serving out a match?

      He needs to avoid a fifth set at all costs.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s