Rafael Nadal: “I think I played a great match” (Barcelona Open R3)

Rafael Nadal discusses what went well in his third-round victory over Kevin Anderson at the Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell.

Continue reading “Rafael Nadal: “I think I played a great match” (Barcelona Open R3)”

Advertisements

Barcelona Open QF: What time does Rafael Nadal play against Hyeon Chung?

On Friday, nine-time champion Rafael Nadal will play his quarter-final match at the Barcelona Open against qualifier Hyeon Chung, who crushed eighth-seeded Alexander Zverev, 6-4, 6-1, in 81 minutes.

Photo: Barcelona Open

Date: April 28, 2017

Match time: Around 15:30 PM local time / 9:30 AM EDT –  New York, Montreal /  14:30 PM BST – United Kingdom / 15:30 PM  CET – Spain, France, Germany, Italy / 11:30 PM AEDT – Melbourne. To convert to your local time, use this website.

Our champ has never met 94th-ranked Korean on ATP tour.

GOOD LUCK & VAMOS RAFA!

Rafael Nadal reaches quarter-finals in Barcelona

World number five Rafael Nadal booked his place in the quarter-finals of the Barcelona Open with a 6-3, 6-4 win over big-serving South African Kevin Anderson.

Rafa, who has won the tournament nine times, sealed victory over the world number 66 in one hour and 32 minutes. He converted a break point in each set to secure his 50th victory in Barcelona.

After the match, Rafa said:

They weren’t the best conditions for me. I much prefer it when the ball is doing more. It wasn’t easy. He’s a really tall player who hits the ball well in comfortable positions. I tried to make him take the ball on the move in order to make him less comfy. (via Reuters)

Our champ will face South Korean qualifier Hyeon Chung in the last eight on Friday.

WATCH: Hot shot of the day goes to Rafael Nadal (Barcelona Open R2)

Watch Hot Shot as Rafael Nadal and Rogerio Dutra Silva cover plenty of ground at the 2017 Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell.

Highlights:

Barcelona Open R3: What time does Rafael Nadal play against Kevin Anderson?

On Thursday, Rafael Nadal will face former Top 10 player Kevin Anderson in the third round of the Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell.

Photo via RCT Barcelona-1899

Date: April 27, 2017

Match time: Around 12:30 PM local time / 6:30 AM EDT –  New York, Montreal /  11:30 AM BST – United Kingdom / 12:30 PM  CET – Spain, France, Germany, Italy / 8:30 PM AEDT – Melbourne. To convert to your local time, use this website.

Our champ has won all three of their prior meetings, which have all been contested on hard courts.

Rafa is looking to capture a 10th title in Barcelona where he owns a 49-3 career record.  Last year he did not drop a set (d. Nishikori in F). Also he did not lose a set in 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011-12-13. His 41-match winning streak in Barca came to an end in 2014 quarter-finals (l. to Almagro)

GOOD LUCK & VAMOS RAFA!

Source: ATP World Tour

Rafael Nadal eases past Rogerio Dutra Silva to reach Barcelona Open third round

Playing on Pista Rafa Nadal, nine-time champion Rafael Nadal has booked his place in round three of the Barcelona Open thanks to a straight-sets win over Rogerio Dutra Silva.

Despite having a slow start to the second set against the 69th-ranked Brazilian, Rafa recovered by winning the final six games to secure the victory. He won 6-1, 6-2 in 75 minutes and it was his 2nd win over 69th-ranked Brazilian (he extended his perfect 10-0 record of never having lost to Brazilian players). It was his 49th victory in Barcelona.

Our champ will now meet Kevin Anderson for a spot in the quarter-finals.

Rafa:

I want to thank everyone who makes this tournament possible, a historic tournament and one of the best of the year. It makes me enormously proud that this court bears my name. It’s a huge honour and hugely satisfying.

The court was a bit slower than usual because of the rain, but I’m happy, the (tournament) debut is always delicate. Tomorrow I will have to take another step forward against an opponent like Anderson. I’m happy to be in the third round. (via Reuters)

Barcelona Open R2: What time does Rafael Nadal play against Rogerio Dutra Silva?

Rafael Nadal will launch his quest for a 10th Barcelona title against 69th-ranked Brazilian Rogerio Dutra Silva on Wednesday.

Photo via Barcelona Open

Date: April 26, 2017

Match time: Around 2:30 PM local time / 8:30 AM EDT –  New York, Montreal /  1:30 PM BST – United Kingdom / 2:30 PM  CET – Spain, France, Germany, Italy / 10:30 PM AEDT – Melbourne. To convert to your local time, use this website.

Rafa and Rogelio will meet for the second time on the tour. Their only previous encounter came four years ago at the US Open, where Rafa easily won 6-2, 6-1, 6-0.

Rafa is 48-3 lifetime in Barcelona and 47-2 in his last 49 matches there.

GOOD LUCK & VAMOS RAFA!