Australian Open R1: Rafael Nadal vs. Bernard Tomic

Chris Hyde/Getty Images
Chris Hyde/Getty Images

World No. 1 Rafael Nadal will begin his bid for a second Australian Open title with a first round match against No.2 Australian Bernard Tomic, currently ranked 57 in the world. They have met only once before, in R32 of the 2011 Australian Open, in which Rafa defeated Tomic in straight sets, 6-2, 7-5, 6-3.

Date: Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Time: 7 pm local time (Melbourne), 9 am CET (Madrid), 8 am GMT (London), 3 am EST (New York)

Updated:  2:00 am (Méx, Gua) 5:00 am (Arg, Chi, Par) 3:00 am (Col, Perú, Uru) 3:30 am (Ven) 4:00 am (Bol) 6:00 am (Bra) 9:00 am (Esp) — via @TodoSobreTennis

Watch Online: Fromsport and ATDHE, broadcast live on ESPN2, Eurosport and Tennis Channel.

On his opponent’s strengths, Rafa had this to say in his press conference: “He has a big talent.  He has a good serve.  He’s able to play with very good control from the baseline.  He has a very good talent on where you going to hit the ball. He’s a good player to start the tournament.  To be through in that first round is because I’m ready to compete well.”

We wish you the best of luck, Rafa. May you win this title and make history once again! Vamos!

25 comments

  1. In what time we can watch this match in nepal?
    love u rafal n obvicously he is the winner of this year’s australian open 2014.

  2. […] On day 1 of the Australian Open, Rafael Nadal put in some court time with Grigor Dimitrov, AKA Baby Federer (he is called that because of his techniques and one-handed backhand, which are reminiscent of Roger Federer’s). Rafa is set to start his first round match on day 2 of the Open against Aussie Bernard Tomic. Time and live stream information for the match can be found here. […]

Leave a Reply