Rafael Nadal Wins Sportsmanship Award

Rafael Nadal has won the ATP tour’s Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award for the second time, ending Roger Federer’s streak of seven in a row.

The ATP announced earlier today:

Fellow players voted Nadal as the winner of the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award for a second time, recognising the Spaniard for his fair play, professionalism and integrity on and off the court. Nadal also received this honour in 2010. This season, the 32-year-old Spaniard spent 36 weeks atop the ATP Rankings and won five titles, including record 11th titles at Roland Garros, Monte-Carlo and Barcelona. Off the court, Nadal supported flood relief efforts in Mallorca.

Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

Federer, Juan Martin del Potro and Kevin Anderson were the others nominated for the award.

ATP Awards:

Comeback of the year: Novak Djokovic

Most improved player: Stefanos Tsitsipas

Newcomer of the year: Alex de Minaur

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award: Rafael Nadal

Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award: Tommy Robredo

Coach of the year: Marian Vajda

Fans’ favourite singles player: Roger Federer

Fans’ favourite doubles team: Mike Bryan/Jack Sock

ATP Masters 1000 event of the year: Indian Wells

ATP 500 event of the year: Queen’s

ATP 250 event of the year: Stockholm

Source: ATP World Tour


  1. Really happy for him. A well deserved honour. So pleased that he has this good cheer at the end of the year. I hope it will buoy his spirits during his recovery time.

    I voted for him as Fans’ Favourite Singles Player, as well. He didn’t win, but I hope he knows for how many people that’s still true!

Leave a Reply