Doha QF: Rafael Nadal vs. Ernests Gulbis

REUTERS/Ahmed Jadallah
REUTERS/Ahmed Jadallah

Rafael Nadal will play Ernests Gulbis in the Qatar ExxonMobil Open quarter-finals.

Date: January 2, 2014

Time: Rafa’s match is the third match on Centre Court. The first match starts at 3:30 pm local time, 12:30 pm GMT (London), 1:30 pm CET (Madrid), 7:30 am EST (New York).

Watch Online: Fromsport and ATDHE

Rafa on Ernests Gulbis: “He’s a player you don’t want to meet because he hits every ball very hard with a very strong serve, first and second serve. Then he hits every ball very, very, very fast from the baseline, forehand/backhand, so he’s a difficult player to play against.” He leads Gulbis 6-0 in their FedEx ATP Head2Head series. 

Year Tournament & City Surface Round Winner & Score
2013 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Rome
Italy
Clay R16 Nadal, Rafael
1-6, 7-5, 6-4 Stats
2013 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Indian Wells
CA, U.S.A.
Hard R16 Nadal, Rafael
4-6, 6-4, 7-5 Stats
2011 Doha
Qatar
Hard Q Nadal, Rafael
7-6(3), 6-3 Stats
2010 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Rome
Italy
Clay S Nadal, Rafael
6-4, 3-6, 6-4 Stats
2008 ATP Masters Series Madrid
Spain
Hard R32 Nadal, Rafael
7-5, 3-6, 6-3 Stats
2008 Wimbledon
Great Britain
Grass R64 Nadal, Rafael
5-7, 6-2, 7-6(2), 6-3 Stats

Source: ATP World Tour

One comment

  1. Go Rafa! We know how hard Gulbis hits it, and we know HE thinks he plays “better.” However, his H2H against you remains 0-6. Win tomorrow; no seeds left in tournament, win Doha for the 1st time to start off the New Year! Then on to Australia, and a 1st time win in Miami!!!

Leave a Reply to Debby Cancel reply