US Open R2: What time does Rafael Nadal play against Fabio Fognini?

World No. 3 Rafael Nadal continues his 2022 US Open campaign with a second round show-down against Fabio Fognini on Thursday. The Italian battled back from two sets down to stun Aslan Karatsev.

(Photo by Eduardo MunozAlvarez/VIEWpress)

Date: September 1, 2022

Match time: Rafa is after the Williams sisters in the doubles. Around 9 PM EDT –  New York, Montreal / 2 AM BST – United Kingdom / 3 AM CEST – Spain, France, Germany, Italy / 11 AM AEST – Melbourne. To convert to your local time, use this website.

They have faced each other on 17 occasions, perhaps none more memorable than Fognini’s 3-6, 4-6, 6-4, 6-3, 6-4 upset of Rafa in the third round of the 2015 US Open. Despite that defeat, our champ leads the overall head-to-head, 13-4.

According to ATP, Rafa is in pole position to leave New York as the No. 1 player in the world. Daniil Medvedev, Carlos Alcaraz and Casper Ruud all must reach at least the final to have a chance of preventing Rafa from capturing the top spot.

GOOD LUCK & VAMOS RAFA!

12 comments

  1. Rafa was having problems with his left index finger in first set but then he found his groove and sailed through

  2. Rafa, Buena Suerte v Fognini. You are well used to playing him so stay healthy..no mad dashes, come in bit more to save your runs to return. Staying on base line today, is bit hard for your body.. just be safe. Vamos ..

  3. You could have picked a better time to play the Fog, Rafa! Now I have to wake up at 2am and be a zombie for the rest of the day:)

    Get it done champ!!

    • Where do you live Mac? I’m guessing England with the 2am alam set! Its no use trying to record it & sleep…it doesn’t work! Here we go! Have a great time…Rafa off to a good start!

  4. My schedule is Rafa’s schedule. I have re-scheduled appointments and all kinds of things over the past 10 years to make sure I can watch him play. Don’t think I’ve missed a single match. Sadly, all on TV or on line. Keep playing until I can see you win in person, Rafa. And go get Fabio! Vamos!

  5. Stay Healthy…. Nothing more I can say bcz I know he will beat Fognini in straight sets.. Vamos Rafa

  6. F. Fognini is a tricky opponent, but I believe Rafa will beat him in straight sets.
    Vamos Rafa💪🍀❤️

Leave a Reply to Rafa_1310 Cancel reply