US Open R1: What time does Rafael Nadal play against David Ferrer?

On Monday, top seed and defending champ Rafael Nadal will open his 14th US Open against former world No. 3  David Ferrer.

It will be a 31st career meeting between the Davis Cup teammates, with Rafa leading the series 24-6. But in their only previous meeting at the US Open, in 2007, Ferrer triumphed in four sets.

Date: 27 August 2018

Match time: Around 9 PM EDT –  New York, Montreal / Tuesday 2 AM BST – United Kingdom / Tuesday 3 AM  CET – Spain, France, Germany, Italy / Tuesday 11 AM AEDT – Melbourne. To convert to your local time, use this website.

Getty Images

Rafa on playing Ferru:

We have a great history together.

We shared the Davis Cup together a lot of times, here too. He’s a good friend.

He has been an amazing player for such a long, long time. This year he’s going through tougher times but he’s still a player with a very high level of tennis. I’m looking forward to playing that match so we’ll see.

Rafa has enjoyed plenty of success in New York over the years, lifting the trophy in 2010, 2013 and 2017. He has advanced to the semi-finals or better six times, doing so in five straight appearances from 2008-11 and 2013, missing the tournament in 2012 due to knee tendinitis.

Rafa now has an opportunity to complete a French Open-US Open double for the second consecutive year, and the fourth time in his career. No man has defended the US Open crown since Federer wore it for five straight summers, from 2004-08.

GOOD LUCK & VAMOS RAFA!

Sources: ATP World Tour, US Open

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “US Open R1: What time does Rafael Nadal play against David Ferrer?

  1. Marla D Lambert

    Can’t wait for this entire fortnight and watching Rafa Nadal go the entire way…I’ll be watching at the finals. Sending positive vibes your way! 🎾

    Like

  2. Awwwhh good luck Rafa…Shame you have to play your good friend David, another exciting good player from Spain. Take each day as it comes, and I wish you all the luck in the world! You’re my hero! XX

    Like

  3. Elizabeth Howard

    I have always admired David Ferrer for his work ethic, he is a great competitor and I saw him most recently playing Davis Cup v Germany . He was brilliant. Since then his season has not been successful .
    Rafa will win in three sets but will respect David as he does every opponent . Rafa is in a really good place , playing so well, firvand healthy and so happy and relaxed .
    Go Champion . You are the best . All good luck 🍀👍

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s