Madrid Open Quarterfinals: What time does Rafael Nadal play against Joao Sousa?

On Friday, Rafael Nadal will play his quarter-final match at the Mutua Madrid Open against Portuguese Joao Sousa, who defeated American Jack Sock in three sets.

Rafael Nadal of Spain in action against Sam Querrey of USA during day six of the Mutua Madrid Open tennis tournament at the Caja Magica on May 05, 2016 in Madrid, Spain. (May 4, 2016 - Source: Julian Finney/Getty Images Europe)
Photo: Julian Finney/Getty Images

Date: May 6, 2016

Match time: Not before 4 PM local time / 10 AM  EDT –  New York, Montreal / 3 PM BST – United Kingdom / 4 PM CET – Spain, France, Germany, Italy / Midnight AEST – Melbourne. To convert to your local time, use this website.

Watch online: 3pmstream

Rafa leads the head-to-head series 1-0. Their only previous encounter came last year on the clay courts in Rio de Janeiro, where our champ dropped just one game in dominating win.

The Portuguese Sousa used to work under Francisco Roig who also coaches Rafa when uncle Toni is not able to travel with him.

Rafa on playing Sousa:

He’s a great player. We know each other very well. We have been practicing together in Mallorca this December. When he’s in advanced rounds he’s a very dangerous player. He had an amazing victory today against Jack Sock, that’s a very dangerous, good player, especially here in altitude. He will be ready for the match of tomorrow. He will be confident. I hope to be ready for play a good match.

Rafa is 24-6 on the season (16-2 on clay), highlighted by back-to-back ATP World Tour titles in recent weeks at the Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters (d. Monfils) and the Barcelona Open BancSabadell (d. Nishikori).

Rafa has a 41-9 career record in Madrid, winning the title four times (2005, ’10, ’13-14) while reaching the final three other times (2009, ’11, ’15). Since 2009, he’s reached the final six of the last seven years (except ’12-3R).

GOOD LUCK & VAMOS RAFA!

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “Madrid Open Quarterfinals: What time does Rafael Nadal play against Joao Sousa?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s