Cincinnati 2R: What time does Rafael Nadal play against Jeremy Chardy?

Rafael Nadal will face Jeremy Chardy (ranked No. 27) in his opening match on Wednesday at the Western and Southern Open in Cincinnati. It might not be an easy match for our champ since last week the 27th-ranked Frenchman played really good in Montreal, where he reached the semifinals (lost to World No.1 Novak Djokovic).

Rafael Nadal of Spain practices during Day 3 of the Western & Southern Open at the Linder Family Tennis Center on August 17, 2015 in Cincinnati, Ohio. (Aug. 16, 2015 - Source: Maddie Meyer/Getty Images North America)
Maddie Meyer/Getty Images

Date: August 19, 2015

Time: Not before 8.30 pm EDT –  Cincinnati, New York, Montreal / August 20 – 1.30 am BST – United Kingdom / August 20 – 2.30 am CEST – Spain, France, Germany, Italy / August 20 – 10.30 am AEST – Melbourne. To convert to your local time, use this website.

Watch online: Fromsport and ATDHE

  • The eighth-seeded Rafa was unable to defend his 2013 Cincinnati title (d. John Isner) last summer due to injury.
  • He also withdraw from the Western & Southern Open in 2012, so his last loss in Cincinnati came to Fish in the 2011 quarterfinals.
  • Rafa is 14-8 in his last eight hard-court tournaments overall, falling short of the semifinals at each event he’s played on the surface since facing Djokovic in the 2014 Miami final.

It will be the second meeting between Rafa and Jeremy. Our champ leads their FedEx ATP Head2Head series 1-0, having won in easy straight sets when the pair met two years ago on the red stuff  in Chile. 

GOOD LUCK & VAMOS RAFA!

Source: ATP World Tour

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “Cincinnati 2R: What time does Rafael Nadal play against Jeremy Chardy?

    1. Arthur

      Don’t be too sure. Bellucci has played two very strong matches against Novak this year, even taking a set off of him in Rome. Yet both times Rafa’s played Bellucci this year, he’s won easily.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s