Laureus Awards: Rafael Nadal nominated in two categories

via @LaureusSport
Photo via Laureus

World No. 1 Rafael Nadal is nominated in two categories for the 2014 Laureus World Sports Awards. Rafa received nominations for the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year and the Laureus Comeback of the Year awards.

The Laureus World Sports Awards is unique. It is the only global sports awards honouring the greatest sportsmen and women across all sports each year. The winners are selected by the ultimate sports jury – the 46 members of the Laureus World Sports Academy, a collection of the world’s greatest sportsmen and women. The living legends of sport honouring the great athletes of today.

The names of the winners will be announced during a televised Awards Ceremony in Kuala Lumpur, on the evening of March 26, 2014.


World Sportsman of the Year: 

Usain Bolt (Jamaica) Athletics – won 100m, 200m and 4 x 100m World Championship gold medals

Mo Farah (UK) Athletics – won classic 5,000m and 10,000m double in World Championships

LeBron James (US) Basketball – Miami Heat star, voted NBA MVP for fourth time in five years

RAFAEL NADAL (Spain) Tennis – winner of French Open, US Open and five ATP Masters event

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) Football – scored 69 goals for Real Madrid and Portugal in 2013

Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Motor Racing – won fourth straight Formula One World Championship

World Comeback of the Year: Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia), RAFAEL NADAL (Spain), Oracle Team USA, Tony Parker (France), Ronaldinho (Brazil), Tiger Woods (US)

Photo via Laureus
Photo via Laureus

World Sportswoman of the Year: Nadine Angerer (Germany), Missy Franklin (US), Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica), Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia), Tina Maze (Slovenia), Serena Williams (US)

World Team of the Year: All Blacks (NZ), Bayern Munich (Germany), Brazil Men’s Football Team, Bob & Mike Bryan (US), Miami Heat (US), Red Bull (Austria)

World Breakthrough of the Year: Afghanistan Cricket Team, Marc Márquez (Spain), Raphael Holzdeppe (Germany), Nairo Quintana (Colombia), Justin Rose (UK), Adam Scott (Australia)

World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Marie Bochet (France), Marcel Hug (Switzerland), Tatyana McFadden (US), Sophie Pascoe (NZ), Sarah Louise Rung (Norway), Olga Sviderska (Ukraine)

World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Jamie Bestwick (UK), Bob Burnquist (Brazil), Mick Fanning (Australia), John John Florence (US), Maya Gabeira (Brazil), Shaun White (US)

Recent winners:

  • 2013 – Usain Bolt (athletics)
  • 2012 – Novak Djokovic (tennis)
  • 2011 – Rafael Nadal (tennis)
  • 2010 – Usain Bolt (athletics)
  • 2009 – Usain Bolt (athletics)



  1. Por favor, el traductor, o programa que tienen es Nefasto!!!! Escribí en Español y salió como si lo hubiera escrito en Arameo. ¿Qué necesidad de pasar español, al inglés y al español de regreso? . PÉSIMO AMIGOS!!! Rafa necesita de su esensia: CALIDAD DE PRIMERA.

  2. Rafael Nadal es “Único”. Merece lo mejor de lo mejor por su lucha diaria, su tenacidad, amor y humildad con sus seguidores. Un hombre muy completo para nuestros días y ejemplo para los pequeños que lo siguen. Mil bendiciones Rafa. Te sobran los besos, pero adjunto el mío con gran respeto y cariño.

  3. Congratulations on being a nominee for both categories. You deserve them both. Wish you all the best Rafa.

  4. I wish Rafael Nadal will be the winner, he deserves it and he’s a very good person… All the best to you Rafa <3

  5. I am hoping that Rafael Nadal will be the winner of the Laureus Award he so deservers it. what a Athlete.

Leave a Reply