Doha final: Rafael Nadal vs. Gael Monfils

In the first tournament of the season, Rafael Nadal has reached his first final of the year at the Qatar ExxonMobil Open in Doha by defeating German Peter Gojowczyk in three sets. His opponent in the final is Gael Monfils of France.

Date: Saturday, January 4, 2014

Time: 6:00 pm local (Doha), 4:00 pm CET (Madrid), 3:00 pm GMT (London), 10:00 am EST (New York)

Watch Online: Fromsport and ATDHE, broadcast live on Eurosport and Tennis Channel. Alternative streams: Here and here.

Rafa and Monfils have played 10 times in the past, with Rafa leading the series 8-2. It is noteworthy, however, that both of the Frenchman’s victories against Rafa were in Doha, in 2009 and 2012. Rafa is looking to secure his first win at Doha in his sixth appearance.

Year Tournament & City Surface Round Winner & Score
2012 Doha
Qatar
Hard S Monfils, Gael
6-3, 6-4 Stats
2011 Barcelona
Spain
Clay Q Nadal, Rafael
6-2, 6-2 Stats
2010 Tokyo
Japan
Hard F Nadal, Rafael
6-1, 7-5 Stats
2010 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Madrid
Spain
Clay Q Nadal, Rafael
6-1, 6-3 Stats
2009 US Open
NY, U.S.A.
Hard R16 Nadal, Rafael
6-7(3), 6-3, 6-1, 6-3 Stats
2009 Rotterdam
The Netherlands
Hard S Nadal, Rafael
6-4, 6-4 Stats
2009 Doha
Qatar
Hard Q Monfils, Gael
6-4, 6-4 Stats
2008 ATP Masters Series Paris
France
Hard R16 Nadal, Rafael
6-3, 6-2 Stats
2006 ATP Masters Series Rome
Italy
Clay S Nadal, Rafael
6-2, 6-2 Stats
2005 ATP Masters Series Monte Carlo
Monaco
Clay R64 Nadal, Rafael
6-3, 6-2 Stats

Good luck Rafa! Vamos! 

One comment

Leave a Reply to Luisa Sichero Cancel reply