Australian Open R3: Rafael Nadal vs. Gael Monfils

EFE/Franck Robichon
EFE/Franck Robichon

After a straight sets victory over Thanasi Kokkinakis in the second round, Rafael Nadal progresses to the third round in Melbourne. His opponent is Frenchman Gael Monfils, whom he defeated in the final at the Qatar ExxonMobil Open earlier this month.

Date: Saturday, January 18, 2014

Time:  Approximately* 9:00 pm local (Melbourne),  11:00 am CET (Madrid),  10:00 am GMT (London), 5:00 am EST (New York). 

Updated: 4:00 am (México), 7:00 am (Argentina, Chile, Paraguay), 5:00 am (Colombia, Perú, Uruguay), 5:30 am (Venezuela), 6:00 am (Bolivia), 8:00 am (Brazil), 11:00 am (España) via @todosobretennis

*Rafa’s match is the second one on Rod Laver Arena in the night session, which starts at 7:00 pm. Times are approximate. Please check our Twitter feed or the Australian Open website for updates. To convert to your local time, use this website.

Watch Online: Fromsport and ATDHE, broadcast live on ESPN2, Eurosport and Tennis Channel.

In already their second meeting this year in as many tournaments, Rafa has the advantage of having beat Monfils just a couple of weeks ago. He leads the head to head series 9-2. The two have met at a Grand Slam only once before, in R16 of the 2009 US Open, where Rafa defeated Monfils in four sets.

ATP World Tour, Grand Slam, and Davis Cup Main Draw Results

Year Tournament & City Surface Round Winner & Score
2014 Doha
Qatar
Hard F Nadal, Rafael
6-1, 6-7(5), 6-2 Stats
2012 Doha
Qatar
Hard S Monfils, Gael
6-3, 6-4 Stats
2011 Barcelona
Spain
Clay Q Nadal, Rafael
6-2, 6-2 Stats
2010 Tokyo
Japan
Hard F Nadal, Rafael
6-1, 7-5 Stats
2010 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Madrid
Spain
Clay Q Nadal, Rafael
6-1, 6-3 Stats
2009 US Open
NY, U.S.A.
Hard R16 Nadal, Rafael
6-7(3), 6-3, 6-1, 6-3 Stats
2009 Rotterdam
The Netherlands
Hard S Nadal, Rafael
6-4, 6-4 Stats
2009 Doha
Qatar
Hard Q Monfils, Gael
6-4, 6-4 Stats
2008 ATP Masters Series Paris
France
Hard R16 Nadal, Rafael
6-3, 6-2 Stats
2006 ATP Masters Series Rome
Italy
Clay S Nadal, Rafael
6-2, 6-2 Stats
2005 ATP Masters Series Monte Carlo
Monaco
Clay R64 Nadal, Rafael
6-3, 6-2 Stats

Vamos Rafa!

6 comments

  1. Dear Rafa, congratulations on your 2nd round win over Thansi. I know Gael Monfils is a tough opponent. I think they will all start to get tougher each round. You played greatl and served great against Thansi; I pray you serve as well. Keep on being positive and mentally fresh Rafa; stay in every point which means your intensity must be constant, I think you’ve trained your mind well to stay intense as you do – please keep it up. PLEASE remember not to fall behind the baseline (old habits are hard to break); take the ball early, I feel you must do that; and keep having belief in yourself. Love you, and I wish you the very best in your match with Monfils. I am always very proud of you. God Bless you. Love Marylynn

  2. oh dear! i cant watch rafa in live my boss are around…..hope he can best gael again …..i pray so hard for him….gael is tough opponent….

Leave a Reply to moinul Cancel reply