Doha R2: Rafael Nadal vs. Tobias Kamke

AP Photo/Kamran Jebreili
AP Photo/Kamran Jebreili

Rafael Nadal defeated Lukas Rosol at the Qatar ExxonMobil Open in Doha to progress to the second round, where he will meet Tobias Kamke of Germany. 

Date: January 1, 2014

Time: Rafa’s match is the second match on Centre Court. The first match starts at 3:30 pm local time, 12:30 pm GMT (London), 1:30 pm CET (Madrid), 7:30 am EST (New York).

Watch Online: Fromsport and ATDHE

It will mark the first ever encounter between the two athletes. Nicknamed Tobi, Toppi or Klaus, Rafa’s next opponent started playing tennis when he was five years old and uses a double-handed backhand. Kamke was voted ATP newcomer of the year in 2010, having climbed from world no.254 to 67. He posted a 6-3, 6-4 victory over Tunisian wild card Malek Jaziri without dropping serve to book his place in the R16.

GOOD LUCK RAFA!

4 comments

  1. Rafa had an absolutely superb 2013! It will be interesting to see whether he can keep up his incredible run at the Australian Open. Another final against Djokovic would be breathtaking!

Leave a Reply to judykay Cancel reply